Gayness and Loneliness

Posted: December 28, 2018 in others

“No one can understand sadness like a gay man does.”

Having been closeted for almost two decades of my life, I know how this feels. Due to major changes in my life, I am again forced to revisit what it means to be gay and lonely. None of my straight circles will ever fully understand the breadth and depth of this kind of loneliness. I sometimes do not dare to fully acclimatize myself to this kind of loneliness because I fear the experience as well. It is constantly unsettling, it provokes uncertainty, and it definitely found its comfortable place in my grief. I honestly don’t know how to deal with it right now. I only cling on to the hope that there are countless people like me who are also struggling, but are also surviving. And that there are things that demand more attention than this nagging loneliness that I feel.

We’ll do our best to survive another day.

Comments
  1. Angeli says:

    Pray and lift everything to the Lord 🙂
    There are so many uncertainties in this life for Gay and straight people. Always think that all obstacles and struggles are only in passing.. Just focus on the bright side of things and have faith 🙂
    Enjoy life 🙂
    Happy New Year, kuya 🙂

Leave a comment